Better than Bisquick

I love pancakes. When I was pregnant with my second I had an obsession with them for a time. Gotta love pregnancy cravings! I have always used Bisquick for pancakes. I am not sure why… Maybe because it had “quick” right in the title and when I had a pancake craving I had to have them immediately. I was happy in my Bisquick bubble and thought that the pancakes made from such a batter were pretty wonderful. In light of this, imagine my horror when they were among the list of “trusted” American brands containing all of those super tasty and wonderful toxins, antibiotics and genetically modified organisms from the beloved Monsanto company.

For more info on Monsanto and how they are trying to kill you read HERE

I thought to myself, “I need to make my own pancakes”. So I googled and googled and tried a few recipes that I didn’t like and then I played around with the ingredients and HOLY MOLY… I had been missing out all this time. Nevermind the cancer causing ingredients in Bisquick! The batter makes dry, tasteless pancakes that do not hold up well to storage if you like to make extra and freeze for later quick breakfast mornings.

 

This recipe has been our go to Sunday morning treat for the past 3 weeks and I don’t see that tradition stopping any time soon. These pancakes are moist, fluffy and totally filling. Try them out and tell me what you think!

 

Crunchy Curious Cinnamon Pancakes

2 cups flour (use your favorite white or wheat)

1 tablespoon white sugar (or sucanat)

4 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 eggs beaten

2 cup milk

2 tablespoons vegetable oil (melted coconut oil works well but make sure to add it last and stir well)

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Make a well in the center, and pour in milk, vanilla extract, egg and oil. Mix until smooth. Heat a griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/3 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot. Makes approx. 10 pancakes.

pancakes 1

Leave a Reply

