My Kombucha Scoby

20130502-113305.jpg

This is my kombucha scoby. My friend Claire gave her to me (read her awesome blog at http://www.theadventuresoflactatinggirl.com) and it is my job to keep her safe and growing. I have named her Helen. I don’t really know why, I just thought she looked like a Helen. If you are named Helen, I am sorry if that offends you.

When I showed Helen to my husband, his expression was priceless. It went a little like this:

Me- “honey, look!!”
Husband- “what is that?”
Me- “it’s my scoby.”
Husband- “what is a scoby?”
Me- “it’s good bacteria that I am going to let ferment in tea and drink to make my gut healthier”
Husband- “wait… So you are going to put that in some tea, let it grow more bacteria and then drink it?”
Me- “yep”
Husband- “voluntarily?”
Me- “yep”
Husband- “you are crazy…”
Me- “I know, huh?”
Then we laughed.

Honestly, Helen freaks me out a lot and I am totally scared to drink this in a week but, in the name of crunchy curiosity, I am going to do it bravely.

I wanted to introduce her to you so you can see how she starts out. Today I put her in her decaf pomegranate green tea bath and she will stay undisturbed for a week. If all goes well, I will have a great post about that then. If it goes badly, I will post about that too.

Say “Bye Helen!”

Bye Helen.

One thought on “My Kombucha Scoby

Leave a Reply

