Best Banana Muffins

679

Learning how to make things myself instead of out of a box or baked in a store has been a challenge.  Sometimes it just seems easier to go the store bought route, but is it really worth it?  Learning about how much ridiculous crap is in packaged foods has really changed the way I look at the time it takes to make things myself.

One thing that I love is fresh baked banana bread.  Is there anything more delicious?  Warm and comforting with a bit of butter on top… I just made myself hungry.  When I started trying to make my food from scratch this was one thing that I made and was so pleased with.  I used a recipe from an old cook book that I had that I no longer have apparently but it doesn’t matter because I changed it up to suit my tastes anyway.  I like making this in muffin cups for portion control and handy toddler eating, but it can be baked in a loaf pan as well.

 

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose or whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 to 1 tablespoon cinnamon

2 eggs, beaten

2 1/2 cups mashed bananas (preferrably overripe)

 

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare 12 cup muffin pan with baking liners or lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.
  • In a bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. In a separate large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.  Stir eggs and mashed bananas into butter and sugar mixture until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten. Pour batter into cups or loaf pan.
  • Bake in preheated oven for 20-22 minutes for cups or 60 to 65 minutes for the loaf pan, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let cool for at least 10 minutes.  I find it hard to wait that long…

These are so moist because of the amount of bananas and I don’t feel bad using a small amount of sugar instead of a sugar substitute but, feel free to play around with your own and make them to your liking.  Recipes are really just an outline anyway.

Enjoy and tell me how yours turned out or how you changed them!

 

 

Leave a Reply

